Coat of Arms of Bundeswehr Institute for Preventive Medicine Bundeswehr Institute
for Preventive Medicine

Cover picture - Symposium

Symposium

Symposium 2019: Enhancing Operational Readiness

Flyer of the Symposium 2019

Following our successful symposium “Health and Performance during Heat Stress” in 2018, The Institute of Preventive Medicine of Bundeswehr (InstPraevMedBw) is currently organizing another invitational symposium scheduled for October 2019. Titled “Enhancing Operational Readiness”, it will continue with preventive and medical aspects of heat stress inspired by the 2018 symposium. We are pleased to welcome once again national and international experts lecturing their knowledge and presenting their studies to an invited audience.

Further information about the upcoming event will be posted on this website soon.


Retrospection Heat-Symposium 2018

Grafic of the Symposium 2018

The first symposium titled „Health and Performance during Heat Stress“ was held on April 17th/ 18th, 2018 in Koblenz. More than 200 participants from the Federal Ministry of Defense, the services, the major organizational elements as well as national and international experts from highly diverse areas of expertise attended the symposium.

In his introductory keynote speech, head of the institute Colonel (MD) Prof. Dr. Dr. Dieter Leyk highlighted: “We know that heat stress and the development of exertional heat illness depend on a multitude of factors: Kind and degree of physical work, clothing and equipment, climate, but also on individual factors such as fitness or fluid balance all of which must be analyzed together.”

The first thematic block was dedicated to first hand reports from the troops, contributions to first response and clinical procedures for the treatment of heat related emergencies. It also featured lectures of scientific and military experts from Israel, the USA, Great Britain, and the Netherlands, with the latest research results about risk factors, treatment of life-threatening heat related illness, risk assessment, and preventive measures. Focus of all contributions was on practicability and applicability of those measures and results in the military setting.

The subsequent block focused on individual physical fitness and performance. Despite the general consensus that physical fitness is a manjor factor for operational readiness and effective prevention of heat related illness, soldiers often exhibit inadequate levels of physical fitness. High ranking experts from the German Army and the Medical Service presented a concept built on individualized training in performance groups, paired with tailored qualification of the instructors and adapted training methods within the framework of a restructured basic training for the German Army. This concept has been established for an important step towards increased efficiency in the physical training of recruits.


We use cookies on these pages for the best possible functionality.
By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.

Imprint Privacy

Wappen des Instituts für Präventivmedizin der Bundeswehr Institut für Präventivmedizin
der Bundeswehr

Titelbild - Symposium

Symposium

Symposium 2019: Verbesserung der Einsatzbereitschaft

Grafik zum Symposium 2019

Nach dem erfolgreichen Symposium mit dem Thema „Gesundheit und Leistung bei Hitzestress“ 2018, wird für den Herbst 2019 ein weiteres Einladungs-Symposium vorbereitet. Es schließt mit dem Thema „Verbesserung der Einsatzbereitschaft“ an die präventivmedizinische Ausrichtung der Veranstaltung des Jahres 2018 an und wird erneut nationale und internationale Experten aus militärischen und zivilen Bereichen als Vortragende vor einem geladenen Publikum zusammenführen.


Rückblick Hitze-Symposium 2018

Grafik zum Symposium 2018

Das erste präventivmedizinische Symposium „Gesundheit und Leistung bei Hitzestress“ fand mit mehr als 200 Teilnehmenden aus dem Bundesministerium der Verteidigung, den Teilstreitkräften und Organisationsbereichen sowie nationalen und internationalen Experten unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen am 17./ 18. April 2018 in Koblenz statt.

In seinem Einführungsvortrag stellte Oberstarzt Prof. Dr. Dr. Dieter Leyk, Leiter des Instituts für Präventivmedizin der Bundeswehr, heraus: „Wir wissen, dass Hitzestress und somit auch mögliche Hitzeschäden durch viele Faktoren beeinflusst werden. Der Grad der körperlichen Arbeit, Bekleidung und Ausrüstung, Klima, aber auch individuelle Faktoren wie beispielsweise Fitness oder Flüssigkeitshaushalt, müssen gemeinsam betrachtet werden.“

Den ersten Veranstaltungsblock füllten Erfahrungsberichte aus der Truppe, Beiträge zur Erstversorgung und klinischen Behandlung von Hitzenotfällen sowie Vorträge von Experten aus Israel, den USA, Großbritannien und den Niederlanden über neueste Forschungsergebnisse zu Risikofaktoren, Behandlungsmaßnahmen von lebensbedrohlichen Hitzeerkrankungen, Risk-Assessment und präventiven Maßnahmen. Praktikabilität und Anwendbarkeit der Präventionsempfehlungen im militärischen Alltag standen dabei im Fokus.

Der zweite thematische Schwerpunkt widmete sich der individuellen körperlichen Leistungsfähigkeit. Obwohl es sich nach übereinstimmender Auffassung dabei um einen ganz wesentlichen Faktor einer effektiven Hitzeprävention und auch der Einsatzfähigkeit handelt, ist diese bei Soldaten und Soldatinnen nicht immer ausreichend ausgeprägt. Im Rahmen einer neustrukturierten Grundausbildung des Heers wurden die Differenzierung der Auszubildenden in Leistungsgruppen und damit die Individualisierung des Trainings - gepaart mit einer gezielten Qualifizierung der Ausbilder und Anwendung angepasster Trainingsmethoden - als wichtige Schritte zur Steigerung der Ausbildungseffizienz vorgestellt und in einer abschließenden Podiumsdiskussion durch hochrangige Vertreter aus Truppe und Sanitätsdienst thematisiert.


Wir verwenden auf diesen Seiten Cookies für bestmögliche Funktionalität.
Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.

Impressum Datenschutz