Coat of Arms of Bundeswehr Institute for Preventive Medicine Bundeswehr Institute
for Preventive Medicine

Cover picture Research

Research

In addition to the current key issues of the start page a large number of research projects are continuously being carried out. Here we will shortly introduce you to our areas of research.


Department A1: Applied Health Promotion

Icon picture of Department A1

Just like in civil society digitalization and mechanization combined with unhealthy individual habits have led to palpable results in the armed forces, i.e. reduced individual resilience and performance as well as an increase of noncommunicable diseases.

Department A 1 is tasked with the development of tailor-made health promotion for military and civilian personnel of the Bundeswehr. It researches attractors, barriers, and incentives for health-promoting behavior. In addition, scientific support is developed and provided for all measures of occupational health management.

Contact: Oberstarzt Dr. Ulrich Rohde


Department A2: Physical Performance

Icon picture of Department A2

Basic military tasks such as maneuver under fire, casualty rescue, or military operations in urban terrain put high demands on soldier’s fitness and resilience. Demands are even higher, when external mission related stressors (heavy loads, exhaustion, mission duration, wet conditions, etc.) are factored in.

To expand the body of knowledge about interactions of performance, training, and mission related factors Department A 2 conducts field and laboratory research using anthropometric methods, portable measuring systems (e.g. for capturing parameters of circulation, respiration, and metabolism), and specially developed systems for measuring muscular strength.

Scientific output ranges from large scale data collection (one goal is the establishment of a “fitness registry”), to deriving recommendations for personnel selection and training up to the development and evaluation of performance tests (Basic-Fitness-Test, Basic-Military-Fitness-Tool).

Contact: Oberstarzt Dr. Ulrich Rohde


Department A3: Performance Psychology

Icon picture of Department A3

Performance begins in the mind. Psychological performance is key to accomplishing mentally as well as physically demanding tasks. Motivation, resilience, vigilance, and mindfulness are but a few factors that influence performance at work and are critical to mission success.

Department A 3 researches psychological influences on performance, e.g. predictors of performance, early detection of performance decrements, and cognitive skill training. Acquisition and analyses of psychological and psychophysiological data (e.g. eye movement, reaction times, fatigue, working memory performance during physical and psychological stress) form a solid base for in-depth research.

Contact: Dr. Alexander Witzki


Department A4: Environmental Ergonomics and Clothing

Icon picture of Department A4

Deployments all over the globe subject soldiers to unfamiliar climatic or geographic stressors (heat, cold, altitude etc.) while existing threats may demand the use of heavy and insulating protective gear (ballistic vests, CBRNE protection etc.).

Department A 4 conducts field and realistic laboratory tests in an environmental (climate and altitude) simulation chamber to acquire parameters of temperature regulation and fluid balance (e.g. skin and core temperatures, fluid loss), parameters of circulation and metabolism as well as changes in performance for further analyses.
Scientific output ranges from mission oriented recommendations for training and deployment to the development of new technologies for microclimate cooling.

Contact: Dr. Karl Jochen Glitz


Department A5: Medical Ergonomics and Applied Computer Science

Icon picture of Department A5

The traditional research field of medical and technical ergonomics encompasses studies on specific stressors from military equipment and technology on soldiers as well as their health and performance related impact (e.g. ensuring the proper supply of fresh air and climatization of armored vehicles). Enormous advancements in battlefield technology have led to increasingly complex and integrated systems carried and used by the individual soldier.

As a result, department A 5’s research agenda has changed and expanded to entail new areas such as remote monitoring of physiological functions, wearable computing in general, as well as augmented and virtual reality.

The computer science section develops applied hard- and software systems for the whole Institute such as research methods and data acquisition tools. In addition, it administers a proprietary database system and manages all research data collected in Division A (raw data, primary data, and aggregated parameters).

Contact: Dr. Sevilay Akcöltekin


Department B4: Epidemiology of Performance and Health

Icon picture of Department B4

Key research areas of Epidemiology of Performance and Health are the incidence of health conditions and their causes or results. Of special interest are the impact of individual behavior or trends in society such as unfavorable lifestyle habits or lack of physical exercise.

Its expertise will play a vital role for the further development of the Medical Service in the cours of digitalization of the Health Services and the establishment of fitness and health registries.

Contact: Oberfeldarzt Dr. Melanie Schmeil


We use cookies on these pages for the best possible functionality.
By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.

Imprint Privacy

Wappen des Instituts für Präventivmedizin der Bundeswehr Institut für Präventivmedizin
der Bundeswehr

Titelbild Forschung

Forschung

Neben den aktuellen Schwerpunktthemen auf der Startseite werden eine Vielzahl von Forschungsprojekten durchgeführt. Hier stellen wir Ihnen unsere Forschungsbereiche kurz vor.


Fachbereich A1: Angewandte Gesundheitsförderung

Symbolbild Fachbereich A1

Digitalisierung und Technisierung in Beruf und Freizeit sowie gesundheitlich ungünstige Alltagsgewohnheiten haben auch in den Streitkräften zu einer Abnahme von Belastbarkeit und Leistungsfähigkeit sowie Verbreitung chronischer Erkrankungen geführt.

Aufgabe des Fachbereichs A1 ist die Entwicklung adressatengerechter Gesundheitsförderungsmaßnahmen für alle Bundeswehrangehörigen, Untersuchungen zu Attraktoren, Hemmnissen und Incentives für gesundheitsförderliches Verhalten und die wissenschaftliche Begleitung/ Weiterentwicklung von Maßnahmen im Rahmen des betrieblichen Gesundheitsmanagements.

Ansprechpartner: Oberstarzt Dr. Ulrich Rohde


Fachbereich A2: Körperliche Leistungsfähigkeit

Symbolbild Fachbereich A2

Einsatztätigkeiten wie z.B. Bewegen im Gelände, Retten von Verwundeten oder Orts- und Häuserkampf stellen hohe Anforderungen an Fitness, Belastbarkeit und Durchhaltefähigkeit der Soldatinnen und Soldaten. Dies gilt insbesondere angesichts widriger militärischer Rahmenbedingungen (hohe Lasten, Erschöpfung, Einsatzdauer, Müdigkeit, Nässe u.v.m.).

Der Fachbereich A2 führt dazu Feld- und Laboruntersuchungen durch, in denen neben anthropometrischen Verfahren, portablen Messsystemen (z.B. Erfassung von Kreislauf-, Atmungs- und Stoffwechselparametern) auch speziell entwickelte Kraftmessverfahren eingesetzt werden.

Die Forschungsleistungen reichen von Datenerhebungen (Ziel ist u.a. der Aufbau eines „Fitness-Registers“) über Empfehlungen zu Personalauswahl, Ausbildung und Training bis zur Entwicklung von Leistungstests (Basis-Fitness-Test, Soldaten-Grundfitness-Tool).

Ansprechpartner: Oberstarzt Dr. Ulrich Rohde


Fachbereich A3: Psychische Leistungsfähigkeit

Symbolbild Fachbereich A3

Leistung beginnt im Kopf. Nicht nur bei fordernden mentalen Aufgaben, sondern auch bei körperlichen Belastungen (wie z.B. im Sport) spielt die psychische Leistungsfähigkeit eine zentrale Rolle.

Motivation, Durchhaltewille, Vigilanz, Achtsamkeit sind nur einige der Faktoren, die unsere Arbeitsleistung beeinflussen.

Die Forschung des Fachbereichs A3 beschäftigt sich u.a. mit Prädiktoren von Leistungen, dem frühzeitigen Erkennen von Leistungseinbrüchen und dem Training kognitiver Fähigkeiten. Dazu werden psychologische und psychophysiologische Daten (z.B. Blickbewegungen, Reaktionszeiten, Müdigkeit, Arbeitsgedächtnis bei körperlichem und mentalem Stress) erhoben.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Alexander Witzki


Fachbereich A4: Umweltergonomie und Bekleidung

Symbolbild Fachbereich A4

In den weltweiten Einsatzszenarien treffen Soldatinnen und Soldaten auf ungewohnte klimatische und geografische Stressoren (Hitze, Kälte, Höhe usw.). Gleichzeitig erfordern militärische Bedrohungen das Tragen von schwerer und isolierender Schutzausrüstung (ballistischer Körperschutz, ABC-Schutzbekleidung etc.).

Der Fachbereich A4 führt dazu Feldtests und realitätsnahe Untersuchungen in der Umweltsimulationskammer (Klima und Höhe) durch. Hierbei werden u.a. Messungen zum Wärme- und Flüssigkeitshaushalt durchgeführt (z.B. Haut- und Körperkerntemperaturen, Schweißverluste) sowie Kreislauf-, Stoffwechselparameter und Leistungsänderungen erhoben.

Die Forschungsleistungen reichen von praxisorientierten Empfehlungen für Ausbildung und Einsatz bis zur Neuentwicklung von Technologien zur Körperkühlung.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Karl Jochen Glitz


Fachbereich A5: Medizinisch-technische Ergonomie und Systeminformatik

Symbolbild Fachbereich A5

Das traditionelle Forschungsfeld der medizinisch-technischen Ergonomie umfasst Untersuchungen zu gesundheits- und leistungsrelevanten Auswirkungen von militärtechnischen Stressoren auf Soldatinnen und Soldaten (z.B. Sicherung der Frischluftzufuhr und Klimatisierung von gepanzerten Einsatzfahrzeugen).

Der enorme technische Fortschritt führt dazu, dass Einsatzkräfte zunehmend mit komplexen Ausrüstungssystemen ausgestattet werden. Dadurch rücken neue Forschungsaufgaben im Fachbereich A5 in den Vordergrund, wie z.B. Monitoring von physiologischen Körperfunktionen, wearable Computing, erweiterte und virtuelle Realitäten.

Die wissenschaftliche Systeminformatik entwickelt querschnittlich für die Forschungsaktivitäten des gesamten Instituts praktisch nutzbare Hard- und Softwaresysteme. Dies umfasst Untersuchungsmethoden und Erhebungsinstrumente sowie das proprietäre Datenbankmanagement der empirisch erhobenen Primärdaten und aggregierten Parameter.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Sevilay Akcöltekin


Fachbereich B4: Leistungs- und Gesundheits-Epidemiologie

Symbolbild Fachbereich B4

Leistungs- und Gesundheits-Epidemiologie beschäftigen sich mit der Verbreitung und den Ursachen und Folgen von gesundheitlichen Zuständen. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt hierbei auf den Auswirkungen individueller und gesellschaftlicher Tendenzen in Form von ungünstigen Alltagsgewohnheiten und Bewegungsmangel.

Im Zuge der Digitalisierung der Gesundheitsversorgung und des Aufbaus von Gesundheits- und Fitnessregistern wird die Expertise des Fachbereich B4 eine wichtige Funktion für die evidenzgestützte Weiterentwicklung des Sanitätsdienstes bereitstellen.

Ansprechpartner: Oberfeldarzt Dr. Melanie Schmeil


Wir verwenden auf diesen Seiten Cookies für bestmögliche Funktionalität.
Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.

Impressum Datenschutz